Posted on

14 Books I Read (and 1 I Tried) in 2011 in No Particular Order

I was put on a path to Scandinavian crime literature by

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest, The Girl Who Played with Fire, and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larsson (Swedish). I have to tell you, the writing is mediocre to bad at times.  So what kept me reading? First, the story, the plot, and second, Lisabeth Salander, the main character of the trilogy.

The Snowman and Nemesis by Jo Nesbo (Norwegian). Fabulous. Harry Hole is a classic — alcoholic, demon-ridden, heavy smoker, and brilliant. Good writing with psychological depth.

The Ice Princess by Camilla Lackberg (Swedish) and When the Devil Holds the Candle by Karin Fossum (Norwegian). A friend described the Fossum book as “creepy.” Nicely-constructed plot twists.

And finally

11/22/63 by Stephen King

My Reading Life by Pat Conroy

Love and Summer by William Trevor

Freedom by Jonathan Franzen

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close by Jonathan Safran Foer

The Married Man by Edmund White

Lost Memory of Skin by Russell Banks

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace -- I will give this another chance!

About Amirh

Ever-evolving spirit moving about via body. I'm a writer and a an ever-evolving spirit in service of animals through my blog and Buddhist and Reiki practices. My blogs: AllCreaturesLargeAndSmall.wordpress.com. and AmirhBahati.wordpress.com. For more about me: https://amirhbahati.wordpress.com/about/

Leave a comment