Posted on

Writing Challenge: No Water on Hillsides For My Red Rubber Boots

Daily Prompt: Free Association

Write down the first words that comes to mind when we say . . .

. . . home.

. . . soil.

. . . rain.

Use those words in the title of your post.

Home = Water. Soil = Hillsides. Rain = Red Rubber Boots.

ornabarorgDrought 1There hasn’t been water for days. No rain. No sweat.

Not even a single solitary salty teardrop.

The landscape is coughing. Wheezing.

The river a mile away — dust at its mouth.

Hillsides like old corpses. Rotting. Collapsing.

Victimized by winds and gales.

Last week they rose above the rooftops; today they are the height of my rubber boots.

My brand new red rubber boots. The ones I wear when I dance for rain.

I am tired now. Who will dance for water?

Red Rubber BootsWho will wear my red rubber boots?

Who will wear them out, stomping and turning,

gliding and spinning on dusty hillsides

beneath the clouds and moon and sun?

About Amirh

Ever-evolving spirit moving about via body. I'm a writer and a an ever-evolving spirit in service of animals through my blog and Buddhist and Reiki practices. My blogs: AllCreaturesLargeAndSmall.wordpress.com. and AmirhBahati.wordpress.com. For more about me: https://amirhbahati.wordpress.com/about/

2 responses to “Writing Challenge: No Water on Hillsides For My Red Rubber Boots

  1. Ray's Mom

    Those word prompts are welcome sight in this cold winter weather. I can think of: home – family, love. Soil – garden. Rain, makes it all grow for an abundant crop.

    • Amirh

      Yes, I love these prompts. They are a way of blogging regularly if you’re having a dry spell. Thanks for taking time to comment. I really appreciate it, Ray’s Mom.

Leave a Reply

