Posted on

Daily Post Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

Where were you last night when 2012 turned into 2013? Is that where you’d wanted to be?

I started out with a task that I’d set for myself: to organize my four email accounts, which meant deleting both the read and the irrelevant and then saving many to file folders – 4,000+!

email prompt

Without realizing that it was so close to midnight, I took a break, went outside to the porch, and called my sister. We talked, with her daughter in the background laughing, and I told her the story of how I drove to Times Square in the early ‘70s, with 3 friends, on New Year’s Eve, when I was a relatively new New Yorker. What a crazy decision, to drive. One of my friends was wearing a cheap rabbit jacket, so not only did we have to contend with car and pedestrian traffic, but also with rabbit fur taking over the space of my small Toyota. In our eyes and noses!

black woman and cell phone

Not long after, my sister could hear guns going off (!) where she was – Pittsburgh – and I heard the same, with the beating of pans in my neighborhood – Brooklyn – and realized that 2013 had arrived. It was a pleasant surprise. We went on to discuss the craziness of shooting into the air, laughing at the stupidity of it all.

Times Square

An hour later, I returned to my email clean up, and I’m happy to report that it’s all done – nicely organized email accounts to start the new year off with.

About Amirh

Ever-evolving spirit moving about via body. I'm a writer and a an ever-evolving spirit in service of animals through my blog and Buddhist and Reiki practices. My blogs: AllCreaturesLargeAndSmall.wordpress.com. and AmirhBahati.wordpress.com. For more about me: https://amirhbahati.wordpress.com/about/

2 responses to “Daily Post Prompt: Stroke of Midnight

  1. Pingback: Stroke of Midnight: Welcome 2013 | A Metaphorical Mind

Leave a Reply

